• Home
  • /
  • Newsroom
  • /
  • 2020
  • /
  • Gordon & Rees Chicago Office Hosts Women’s Initiative Event Featuring Vice President and Chief...
Search News

December 2020

Gordon & Rees Chicago Office Hosts Women’s Initiative Event Featuring Vice President and Chief Ethics & Sustainability Officer of Tenneco

The Gordon Rees Scully Mansukhani Chicago office recently hosted its first virtual Women’s Initiative event – “Her Path Forward – Together We Can: In-House Counsel Series” for attorneys invested in the advancement of women into leadership roles within the legal field. 

The event featured Vice President, Chief Ethics & Compliance Officer, and Chief Sustainability Officer of Tenneco, Kim Yapchai. Ms. Yapchai is an experienced global leader with a substantial track record of successfully managing complex legal issues in multi-national, public companies, including Ford, Whirlpool, Masco Corporation, and Tenneco. She is known as a business-orientated advisor who counsels senior leaders on legal issues of major importance and designs pragmatics solutions to achieve strategic results.

Ms. Yapchai hosted an engaging and interactive conversation wherein attendees were able to network and get to know one another. She provided advice on working with others and tips for effective communication. She emphasized listening to others and asking questions to build trust and a dynamic team. Further, Ms. Yapchai addressed the importance of self-reflection, getting feedback, empathy, and initiative. Finally, she challenged us to take one step closer to a goal, and set reminders to accomplish it, in the next 6 months.

This Women's Initiative event successfully connected and engaged lawyers and in-house counsel at other companies and organizations. Guests included individuals from State Farm, AAA, APCI, Laz, and Rush University Medical Center. Many female attorneys from the Gordon & Rees Chicago team attended the event as well.

Thank you to our speaker and all attendees. Special thanks to the event organizers Avanti Bakane, Nerissa Diaz Moisan, Jordan Matthis, Jennifer Goelz, Jimmy Antonopoulos, Abra Geisler, and Abigail Martone.

Avanti D. Bakane
Nerissa Diaz Moisan
Jennifer L. Goelz